Our journey in the Autism Spectrum

There is Always Recourse

Recourse:   a source of help in a difficult situation  syn. option, possibility, alternative, resort, way out, hope, remedy.

There have been so many incredible blogs posting about the horrible tragedy of Kelli and Issy that I’m not even going to pretend that I can write anything that hasn’t already been written and certainly I could never share as eloquently as those bloggers that I have read today.   But there is a lump in my throat that is just not going away tonight.

Another horrific story of an autism mom who broke.  Who was so broken she felt there was no other solution.  She had tried. She WAS TRYING to get her autistic daughter the help she needed and the education that she deserved.  This mama was trying to keep her family safe.  She was advocating for her daughter.  And what completely blew me away is that she has been WRITING about her journey!  She is a BLOGGER!  One of “us”.  A mom blogger sharing about her autistic child and their family…the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Like me.  Like so many of us out there.

And she was tired.  So very tired.  Now she and her daughter are lying in hospital beds after a failed murder/suicide attempt.  I can not comprehend this.

We read each others blogs.

We share and comment.

We, for the most part, are supportive of each other.

We reach out to each other.

We reach out to help.

We reach out to be heard.

We reach out to know we are not alone.

I cannot comprehend what Kelli was going through.  I can not begin to imagine feeling so desperate, so tired, so…broken, that she felt this was her only choice.  I cannot understand it nor can I condone it.  But I also will not judge her.  My heart is aching tonight.  Not for Kelli’s actions, but for her, for Issy , for their family, and for the path that lead Kelli to make the choice that she did.

For those of you who may be reading this, please know that  there is always recourse.  There MUST be!  We need to ensure it!  We must do everything and anything to find that source of help, whether for ourselves or for someone else.  Keep reaching out!  This is what we must do.  THIS is our recourse.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

