Our journey in the Autism Spectrum

Every time I think about the subject, or see a blog post, or article, or discussion about it I immediately become EXTREMELY anxious! Like an I-can’t-breathe kind of anxious. Folks within the autism community are STILL “picking sides”. I generally make a run for the hills to avoid any possible confrontation with it.  I feel as if I could easily hyperventilate just trying to write this post.

A year ago, I wrote this.  And here we are again. It’s April. Autism Awareness Month.  Sadly, what I wrote last year still feels very true to me today.  I’m disappointed. It makes me anxious and sad and tired.

I.just.don’t.get.it.

I will support Autism Speaks, the Autism Society , Asperger Syndrome and High Functioning Autism Association (ASHA), the National Autism Association, LifeSkills/TouchPoint Autism Services, and many other autism organizations.  I want to support and promote ANY and ALL of the wide SPECTRUM of organizations and individuals that are working positively toward helping ALL others in this great big, and very diverse, spectrum of AUTISM. We need awareness at all levels of autism so we can promote compassion and understanding for ALL on the autism spectrum, no matter where on this spectrum they may be! It hurts my heart to think that some in our “community” still can’t see that.

Perhaps I should be glad that I don’t get the hate. I’ve got no room in my life or in my heart for more negativity and bitterness. April is Autism Awareness Month and I know that most of my readers are highly aware of autism every damn day, as am I. In 2012 I followed up my post linked above with this post.  And this too still rings true.  Positively so.

Because of all of this I’ve decided that I want to use this month of awareness to CELEBRATE autism. I will celebrate my son, his differences, his challenges, and the amazing progress he continues to make! I will celebrate our educators, counselors, therapists and physicians who help support and encourage us along the way! I will celebrate our whole family for rising up and overcoming the challenges that autism often brings into our lives. In doing this perhaps others, both within the autism community and those outside of it, will learn by our POSITIVE example. And really, isn’t this what we want to accomplish all year long?!?!

Welcome to April! Celebrating Autism Month!

Comments on: "Forget the Hate. Celebrate! ~ My Autism Awareness Day Post 2013" (3)

  1. Jennifer said:

    I’m with you Chameleon.

  2. Yes! “Every damn day” is right.

    I like the positivity here. I’m glad I found you (I think via Redefining Typical). I’m glad you have so much to celebrate.

    Here’s my obligatory post too (I don’t think it will bring on any heart palpitations):
    http://goo.gl/CWjG8

  3. Yes! Yes! and more Yes! A wonderful blog you’ve got there, Whacamole Mom! I’m glad you found me, thus now I have found you!!!! (Although I’ve read your blog many times before!) Thanks for visiting me here! (also, I too love Cheairs at Redefining Typical <3 ) I look forward to seeing you more in the blogosphere!

    ~In solidarity,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 409 other followers

